Mother’s Day Ducks

Today I added some Muscovy ducks to the barn.  They are a Mother’s Day present from my dear husband.

I could now be considered a duck ‘n’ chicken farmer (duckin’ chicken farmer has a nice ring to it if you say it quickly) but I think I’ll just stick to calling myself a chicken farmer who happens to have other poultry/birds.

drake
Male ducks are called drakes.  Female ducks are called ducks.

Beyond being ridiculously cute, Muscovy ducks are apparently hardy, eat a fuckload of insects, and are relatively friendly.  I read online that drakes can be nasty fellows at times, and with their large size it can be a little scary (still not as scary as Houdini’s spurs/talons). Señor Degrassi seems pretty nice so far, and super-super-cute.  I picked him because he was by himself at Duck ‘N’ Horse Farmer Andrea’s barn as he was being bullied and was a bit injured from another drake.  Now he’s a baller with his three girlfriends, Helga, Mademoiselle, and Sweetpea.

Actually the first thing Señor Degrassi did when I released him into his temporary-pen was waddle over to Helga, get on top of her, spend a long time “hugging” her until he started panting again in his hilarious duck fashion, then he fell to the side and tumbled off of her.

Ducks remind me a lot of dogs, surprisingly.  Señor Degrassi is big into wagging his tail and a lot of their noises are rather canine-sounding.

I’m very excited to learn more about Muscovy ducks as well as chickens!  Animals are amazing and for someone like me, who loves to observe and learn about this world, I can spend hours watching them or reading about them.

FullSizeRender (5)
L2R: Sweetpea, Mademoiselle (front), Helga (back), Señor Degrassi
IMG_2372
Front to back: Señor Degrassi, Helga, Sweetpea, and Mademoiselle is hiding in the shadows

IMG_2347

😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

 

comment here

