Rock Cocks, Cock of the Rock, & Rock Lobsters

I feel like this is worthy of a brief post.

I’m putting together a handy little chicken information booklet.  I’ve been absorbing as much information as I possibly can about chickens, I am so fascinated to hear about the different breeds and all of the ways their diet affects them, and what supplies can help them and why they eat the things they do and how to get them to pick out nesting spots and all that.  And yet they’re easy to care for, they’re just very complex if you stop and think about it.

So I was putting together pictures of all of the breeds, starting with the ones I own.

I have 3 Colombian girls and 3 Colombian boys.  As I was typing it out I realized that the Lonely Chicken is a COLOMBIAN ROCK COCK.

And then I was like, wow, that’s a ridiculous name.  So I typed it into Google images to see pictures of other chickens like Lonely Chicken.cock of the rock

Whoa.  That definitely doesn’t look like the Lonely Chicken, I don’t even think it is a chicken!  2 seconds of Google later I found out that it is a bird that lives in Colombia (South America) called… wait for it… THE COCK OF THE ROCK.

There are two kinds, the Andean and the Guianan.  The Andean cock-of-the-rock is actually considered by many people to be the national bird of Peru.

 

cockrock

Coq-de-roche orange Rupicola rupicola Guianan Cock-of-the-rock
copyright Maxime Dechelle, http://www.oiseaux.net

That’s all I wanted to tell you.

comment here

